The Mission

The mission: make journalism more responsive to the public’s needs and more inclusive of the public’s voices and diversity, by helping journalists, educators, and students who share these values find each other, find resources and best practices, and find support and mentorship.

Who's Behind Gather

This project + platform is made possible through the generous grants
from the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, the Democracy Fund, and , and the News Integrity Initiative. Thank you.


Gather is a collaborative project led by the Agora Journalism Center,
the gathering place for innovation in communication and civic engagement,
at the University of Oregon's School of Journalism & Communication.



The platform was co-designed in collaboration with our steering and advisory committees, which include journalists, technologists, researchers, and engagement practitioners. Our current fantastic steering committee members are:

Andrew Rockway
program director at the Jefferson Center

Ashley Alvarado
manager of public engagement at Southern California Public Radio

Ben DeJarnette
local director (Portland) at WhereBy.Us

Carrie Brown
social journalism program director at CUNY Graduate School of Journalism

Gracie McKenzie
social media editor at CityLab

Julia Haslanger
engagement consultant at Hearken

Kim Bode
product manager, newsletters and messaging at Los Angeles Times


Lauren Katz
senior engagement manager at Vox 

Lori Shontz
journalism instructor at UO School of Journalism and Communication

Madalina Ciobanu
Project Manager, Engaged Journalism Accelerator / European Journalism Centre


Peggy Holman
co-founder of Journalism That Matters 

Simon Nyi
program manager for media and journalism at Illinois Humanities

Tauhid Chappell
engagement editor at the Philadelphia Inquirer

Yve Susskind
owner / principal of Praxis Associates LLC

The steering committee also includes the seven members of our core working group:


Andrew DeVigal
project executive director and associate director of the Agora Journalism Center, the gathering place for innovation in communication and civic engagement, at University of Oregon's School of Journalism & Communication

Regina Lawrence
executive director of the Agora Journalism Center

Joy Mayer
community manager and engagement consultant

Alisha Wang Saville
curator / project manager & producer

Justin Yuen
tech advisor and founder / president of FMYI